Inter School Challenge 2019 Results

TBAQ Interchool Challenge Logo Option 1A

The State-wide INTER-SCHOOL CHALLENGE, organised by Tenpin Bowling Association of Queensland (TBAQ) in August each year, is a unique competition enabling primary and secondary students to pit their skills in the popular sport of tenpin bowling against teams from all around Queensland.
The Inter-School Challenge is staged at several Centres in three Zones, with teams of three players eligible to register in either the Secondary or Primary school division. Students bowl four games in the final and are provided with a handicap based on their grade. To make things fairer, players who already bowl league or are representative bowlers start from scratch (0 handicap).
We had a great turn out of bowlers for this year’s competition with a number of different schools competing all over the state.
Cairns bowlers Brooke Miller, Lachlan Hembrow and Isabelle Wallwork from Edge Hill State School topped the Primary school scratch division in comfortable style amassing an incredible 1769 total pinfall between them, well done to Brooke, Lachlan and Isabelle on a triumphant victory and well done to the other competitors for putting in a great performance.


Cairns also had a great victory in the secondary division with another team from Cairns SHS and St Mary’s made up of Hayden Carr, Mitchell Parsons and Bailey Miller edging out the representatives from Redlynch State College Joe Hayles, Liam Johnson and Mitchel Garland by a mere 144 pins to secure the win in Cairns and also State wide. Well done to these teams on a great victory and well done to the other teams across the state for making it a very competitive event once again this year.


This year, the ALLSTARS will be chosen as the top 3 in their division for total overall pinfall. Starting off with the primary division I am happy to announce that the winning team consisting of Lachlan Hembrow, Brooke Miller and Isabelle Wallwork have all been selected as the states ALLSTARS! Lachlan Hembrow amassed an incredible 680 total pinfall over 4 games while Brooke Miller (550 total pinfall) and Isabelle Wallwork (539 total pinfall) weren’t too far behind him! A huge congratulations for these awesome competitors! Now onto the secondary division ALLSTARS who were selected from 3 different zones! The number one competitor for the secondary division this year was Jamie Robinson from Centenary SHS bowling out of Zone Bowling Richlands, bowling a total pinfall of 858! The second best competitor in the state who bowled a sensational 824 total pinfall was Bailey Miller from Cairns State High School bowling out of Go Bowling Cairns! The third and final ALLSTAR for 2019 bowled a total pinfall of 774 bowling out of Bundy Bowl and from Kepnock SHS, Mitchell Williams! Well done to all of our ALLSTARS for 2019!


With all our results in, coordinators will be contacted regarding medals and ALLSTAR shirts, thank you to everyone that made the 2019 Interschool Challenge possible and thank you to all of the competitors for playing in good spirit and we hope to see everyone back next year for an even bigger and more exciting event! More information about 2020’s competition will be posted later on this year!

Congratulations to all teams that competed in this years Inter School challenge. The final regional champions are listed below;

Region Division School Competitor 1 Competitor 2 Competitor 3 Total Pin-Fall
Gold Coast Secondary Aquinas College Cassie Armstrong Olivia Bourke Bronte Skok 1476
Bundaberg Secondary Kepnock State High School Emma-Leigh Jones Abby Smith Mitchell Williams 1737
Bundaberg Primary Kalkie State School Kyandra Orpin Abigail McCulkin Lola Woznitza 996
Cairns Secondary Cairns State High School/St Marys Hayden Carr Mitchell Parsons Bailey Miller 2063
Cairns Primary Edgehill State/Whiterock/Woree Lachlan Hembrow Brooke Miller Isabelle Wallwork 1769
Maryborough Secondary Aldridge State High School Kayde Till Mitchell Whitaker Jordyn Edwards 1745
Maryborough Primary Granville State School Amelia Nesterowich Seth Brown Shaun Tracey 746
Brisbane Secondary Centenary State High School Jamie Ngo Jacques Hallam Jamie Robinson 1680

We look forward to seeing you all next year! Full results can be found here: Overall ISC Scores 2019_FINAL.